College Overview
IIM Ranchi’s official corporate-relations page reports MBA average CTC of ₹19.29 LPA in 2024–25, ₹18.69 LPA in 2023–24 and ₹17.30 LPA in 2022–23. The 2024–25 highest CTC was ₹50.39 LPA.
Important Admission Dates
The 2026–28 cycle was run through JAP 2026. The 2027–29 calendar is pending.
| Stage | Status | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Application | Current cycle reference | Check the official admission portal before applying. |
| Shortlist / selection | Programme-specific | Track email and admission portal updates. |
| Final offer | Institute-specific | Read the offer letter for fee and joining deadlines. |
Future dates: If the 2027–29 calendar has not been published, dates must be treated as pending. Previous-cycle dates are shown only as planning references.
Eligibility Criteria
IIM Ranchi’s 2026–28 MBA and related programmes followed JAP 2026 for CAT-based shortlisting and common PI. Applicants should use the current admission policy for graduation and category conditions.
What applicants should verify before submitting the form
- Qualifying degree: confirm the exact degree/discipline requirement for the programme.
- Minimum marks: use the category-specific percentage or CGPA stated in the current official notice.
- Entrance score: confirm the accepted test and the relevant examination year.
- Final-year status: check the deadline for submitting proof of graduation.
- Work experience: do not assume it is mandatory unless the programme notice says so.
Admission Process: Step-by-Step
JAP registration follows CAT 2025 and the common PI process. IIM Ranchi then prepares its own programme/category-wise merit list. Programme-specific requirements must be checked separately for MBA and MBA-BA.
Application to offer
- Read the current programme-specific admission notice.
- Check eligibility before paying the non-refundable application fee.
- Enter academic, test-score and work-experience information exactly as supported by documents.
- Upload certificates and scorecards required by the institute.
- Complete the institute’s shortlist, PI, WAT, written test or other notified selection stage.
- After an offer, compare the total payable cost and joining deadline before accepting.
Cutoff & Selection Criteria
Use the official JAP policy for the screening process. A single unofficial “final CAT cutoff” should not be presented as an institute guarantee.
Fees and Total Cost
Use the programme-specific 2026–28 fee schedule. Separate tuition, hostel, mess, deposits and other charges where the institute publishes them.
| Cost head | How it should be treated | Official-data rule |
|---|---|---|
| Academic / tuition fee | Core programme cost | Use current batch fee notice |
| Hostel / accommodation | Mandatory where residential | Separate if billed separately |
| Mess / boarding | Recurring living expense | Use institute’s published amount |
| Deposit | Usually one-time; may be refundable | Check offer/fee notice |
| Insurance / student charges | Additional mandatory cost where applicable | Do not hide inside tuition |
Decision rule: compare the full two-year cash outflow, not only the advertised tuition figure.
Placements: Latest Outcomes and 3-Year Comparison
| Placement year | Average CTC | Highest CTC | Median CTC |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024–25 | ₹19.29 LPA | ₹50.39 LPA | Official median not stated on summary page |
| 2023–24 | ₹18.69 LPA | ₹37.80 LPA | Official median not stated on summary page |
| 2022–23 | ₹17.30 LPA | ₹35.50 LPA | Official median not stated on summary page |
How to Evaluate This College or Programme
Admission fit
Compare the published eligibility and selection methodology with your own academic record, test score and work experience.
Cost fit
Calculate tuition, accommodation, food, deposits and other mandatory expenses before comparing offers.
Placement fit
Use average and median CTC together with role and sector data. Do not make a decision on the highest package alone.
Programme fit
Choose the programme whose curriculum, admission route and career outcomes match your target function and career stage.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the main admission route for IIM Ranchi?
What is the minimum eligibility for the flagship management programme?
Is the published cutoff a guaranteed admission percentile?
No. A screening threshold only establishes eligibility for consideration. Final conversion depends on the institute’s complete selection methodology and competition.
How should I calculate the actual cost of the programme?
Add every mandatory academic and residential charge, then add mess/boarding, insurance, deposits and other recurring charges listed by the institute. Do not treat refundable deposits as permanent academic fees.
Which placement number should I use when comparing colleges?
Prefer median CTC where available, then average CTC and role/sector distribution. Highest CTC should be treated as an exceptional outcome rather than the expected salary.