IIM Bangalore: Courses, Admissions 2027, Fees & Placements

Compare IIM Bangalore programmes, admission routes, published fees and career outcomes

Bengaluru, Karnataka · Official IIM Bangalore Website ↗
NIRF Management 2025Rank 2
Flagship MBA2 years · Residential
EntranceCAT
PGP 2026-28 fee₹26 lakh
On this pageOverview2027-29 DatesAdmissionCAT CutoffFeesProgrammesPlacementsWho Should Apply?FAQs

IIM Bangalore: Key Facts for Applicants

Indian Institute of Management Bangalore (IIMB) offers degree programmes for recent graduates, experienced professionals and research candidates. Its management options include the two-year full-time PGP MBA, two-year PGPBA in Business Analytics, one-year EPGP for experienced professionals, weekend PGPEM for working professionals and the hybrid PGPPM in public policy.

Applicants should compare each programme by work experience, study format and admission test rather than treating all IIMB programmes as the same MBA route. IIMB also offers a doctoral programme. See the official IIM Bangalore programme list for the current portfolio.

540PGP students enrolled in 2026
77PGPBA students enrolled in 2026
2 yearsPGP residential format

What Are the Admission Timelines for IIM Bangalore Programmes?

PGP domestic dates for 2027–29 have not yet been confirmed on IIMB’s official admissions page. PGP dates below are planning estimates. The PGPBA dates are published by IIMB and remain subject to change.

Admission eventTimelineStatus
PGP applicationOct 2026–Jan 2027Tentative
CAT registration/examAs per official CAT 2026 scheduleCheck official CAT notice
PGP shortlist/interviewFeb–Mar 2027Tentative
PGP final offersApr 2027Tentative
PGPBA applications open1 October 2026Published*
PGPBA applications close14 January 2027Published*
PGPBA interviewsFebruary–March 2027Published*
PGPBA offersSecond week of April 2027Published*

Planning note: PGP dates are estimates until IIMB publishes the domestic schedule. Check IIMB’s published PGPBA dates. Published dates are subject to change.


How Does Admission Work Across IIM Bangalore Programmes?

The steps below describe the domestic flagship PGP route. PGPBA, EPGP and PGPEM use programme-specific criteria; compare the IIM Bangalore MBA in Business Analytics (PGPBA), IIM Bangalore Executive MBA (EPGP) and IIM Bangalore Weekend MBA (PGPEM) admissions pages before applying.

Flagship PGP MBA: eligibility and selection

1. Check academic eligibility

For the flagship PGP, applicants need a bachelor's degree in any discipline with at least 50% marks or equivalent CGPA. The minimum is 45% for SC, ST and PwD candidates, subject to the current admission document.

2. Take CAT

Domestic PGP admission uses the Common Admission Test (CAT). CAT is one part of IIMB's selection process.

3. Clear the first shortlist

IIMB applies published section-wise and aggregate CAT requirements and considers other prescribed factors such as academics, work experience/professional qualification and diversity.

4. Attend WAT and PI

Shortlisted candidates proceed to the institute's Written Ability Test and Personal Interview stage as specified for the admission cycle.

5. Receive the final offer

The final composite score uses the components prescribed in the relevant admission policy. Meeting the minimum CAT percentile does not guarantee an interview call or admission.


Which Admission Requirements Should IIM Bangalore Applicants Check?

Flagship PGP MBA: Latest published CAT screening thresholds

For the flagship PGP 2026–28 batch, IIMB published the following minimum CAT percentile requirements for the first-shortlist process. These are the latest published historical thresholds, not the confirmed 2027–29 cutoff or a guarantee of admission. See the official PGP admission process and the separate PGPBA cutoff guide.

CategoryVARCDILRQAAggregate
General80757585
NC-OBC70656575
EWS70656575
SC65606070
ST55555565
PwD50505060
How should you read this?

IIMB's published minimum is a screening requirement. Actual interview calls and final admission depend on the complete selection methodology.


What Are the Published Fees for IIM Bangalore Programmes?

PGP MBA fee for the 2026–28 batch

For the domestic PGP 2026-28 batch, IIMB publishes a two-year programme fee of ₹26,00,000, plus a ₹30,000 refundable caution deposit. A mess advance of ₹30,000 per term is payable separately.

Fee bifurcation

ComponentPGP 2026-28
Programme fee₹26,00,000
Refundable caution deposit₹30,000
Mess advance₹30,000 per term
Taxes/other applicable chargesAs applicable

What the fee covers

  • Tuition and academic-related charges
  • Library and internet
  • Case permission royalty and course material
  • Hostel room rent and service charge
  • Medical and personal accident insurance
  • Alumni activity

What the fee does not cover

  • Mess advance
  • Refundable caution deposit
  • Any charge stated by IIMB as payable separately or applicable taxes

Budgeting note: Do not infer a complete two-year living cost from the ₹26 lakh programme fee because mess and personal expenses vary.


Which Programmes Can You Study at IIM Bangalore?

The routes below differ in duration, format and intended experience level. Choose the dedicated programme page for detailed admission criteria, fees and selection rules.

2 years · CAT

PGP – MBA

Full-time residential flagship MBA for candidates seeking broad management training.

IIM Bangalore MBA (PGP): eligibility, CAT selection and fees →
2 years · CAT

PGPBA – MBA Business Analytics

Full-time residential MBA focused on analytics and AI.

IIM Bangalore MBA in Business Analytics (PGPBA): admissions and fees →
1 year · GMAT/GRE

EPGP – MBA

One-year residential MBA for experienced professionals with at least five years of post-graduation work experience.

IIM Bangalore Executive MBA (EPGP): eligibility and admissions →
2 years · Weekend

PGPEM – MBA

Weekend MBA designed for working professionals with substantial post-graduation experience.

IIM Bangalore Weekend MBA (PGPEM): admissions and fees →
14 months · Hybrid

PGPPM – Public Policy

Hybrid programme for working professionals, including applicants from government, infrastructure, CSR and related sectors; IIMB lists a minimum of five years of work experience.

Official IIM Bangalore Public Policy programme details →
5 years · Full-time

Doctoral Programme (PhD)

Research-focused programme for candidates pursuing academic and high-quality management research.

Official IIM Bangalore PhD programme details →
Undergraduate

BBA in Digital Business and Entrepreneurship

Online undergraduate degree programme; check the official programme site for current eligibility and admissions.

Official BBA DBE programme details →
Undergraduate · 4 years

BSc (Honours) programmes

IIMB lists undergraduate programmes in Data Sciences and Economics. Mathematics and entrance requirements apply; verify the current admissions notice.

Official IIM Bangalore programme list →

What Do IIM Bangalore Placement Reports Show?

The official 2026 placement report covers the PGP and PGPBA 2024–26 batch, reporting 605 students, 665 offers and 177 companies. A separate IIMB announcement reports 596 students appearing and 664 offers from 177 firms; the official communications use different counts, so these figures should not be merged. These numbers do not represent EPGP or PGPEM outcomes.

₹35.35 LPAAverage salary · 2026 report
₹34.75 LPAMedian salary · 2026 report
Not reportedHighest CTC in reviewed official 2026 report

Three-year comparable placement view

Graduating yearStudents placedMedian salary
2024-25588₹32.61 lakh
2023-24517₹32.50 lakh
2022-23502₹33.00 lakh

Placement rate: A percentage placement rate is not stated in the reviewed official 2026 placement report, so no rate is inferred. Management Consulting accounted for 45% of offers in the 2026 cycle.

Important: Do not mix these final-placement figures with summer internship outcomes or with EPGP/PGPEM outcomes.

These figures apply to the reported PGP and PGPBA cohort, not every programme at IIMB. For programme-wise context and year-specific figures, see IIM Bangalore placements: salary, offers and recruiters.


Which IIM Bangalore Programme Fits Your Profile?

PGP may suit applicants who

  • Want a two-year full-time residential MBA.
  • Are applying through CAT.
  • Want broad management exposure before selecting career domains.
  • Can commit to a full-time residential programme.

Check before applying

  • Do not use the minimum CAT cutoff as a guaranteed-call percentile.
  • Compare fees only after checking what each programme includes.
  • EPGP and PGPEM have different work-experience expectations and formats.

IIM Bangalore FAQs

What is the IIM Bangalore MBA entrance exam?

The flagship PGP and PGPBA use CAT for domestic admission. EPGP and PGPEM have separate published selection routes. Check the IIM Bangalore MBA (PGP) admission page, IIM Bangalore MBA in Business Analytics (PGPBA), IIM Bangalore Executive MBA (EPGP) and IIM Bangalore Weekend MBA (PGPEM) pages for programme-specific requirements.

What is the IIM Bangalore MBA fee?

The published PGP 2026–28 programme fee is ₹26 lakh for two years, plus a ₹30,000 refundable caution deposit and mess advance of ₹30,000 per term. This is the PGP fee, not a common fee for every IIMB programme. For other formats, check the official programme fee notice and the dedicated IIM Bangalore Executive MBA (EPGP) and IIM Bangalore Weekend MBA (PGPEM) pages before budgeting.

What is the latest IIM Bangalore MBA average salary?

The official 2026 placement report records an ₹35.35 lakh average salary and ₹34.75 lakh median salary for the PGP and PGPBA 2024-26 batch.

What is the IIM Bangalore CAT cutoff?

For 2026-28, the published minimum aggregate percentile was 85 for General, 75 for NC-OBC/EWS, 70 for SC, 65 for ST and 60 for PwD. These are minimum requirements, not guaranteed admission cutoffs.

Does IIM Bangalore have an MBA for experienced professionals?

Yes. EPGP is a one-year full-time MBA for experienced professionals, while PGPEM is a two-year weekend MBA for working professionals. Their eligibility and entrance requirements differ from the flagship PGP.

Does IIM Bangalore publish a highest package?

The reviewed official 2026 placement report does not publish a highest CTC figure. This page therefore does not estimate or import a third-party number.