IIT Roorkee MBA Admission 2026-28: Fees, Eligibility, Selection & Placements

Dedicated guide to the two-year, full-time residential MBA at DoMS IIT Roorkee, with the 2026-28 admission cycle, CAT route, 95 seats, selection process, official fees and placement outcomes.

Roorkee, Uttarakhand · Official IIT Roorkee Website ↗
2 yearsFull-time residential
95CAT-route seats, 2026-28
76 credits8-term programme
₹9.74 LPublished 4-semester total*
Quick answer

IIT Roorkee's MBA is a two-year, full-time residential programme. For 2026-28, the CAT route lists 95 seats. The institute uses CAT-based shortlisting followed by GD/PI, with final merit based on CAT, Interview and Work Experience. The 2026-27 published four-semester total is ₹9,74,200 for General/GEN-EWS/OBC students under Dining & Residing.

IIT Roorkee MBA Overview

DoMS describes the MBA as an 8-term, 76-credit residential programme over two academic years. The programme combines a common management foundation with advanced learning in chosen areas and permits dual specialisation.

DoMS currently lists Finance, Marketing, Operations, Information Systems and Human Resource Management as specialisation areas. Students can pursue dual specialisation in any two of these areas.


IIT Roorkee MBA Admission Dates 2026-28

The official 2026-28 admission brochure gives the following cycle. These dates are historical for the current 2026 session; they should not be reused as 2027-29 dates without a new official notice.

Admission stageOfficial 2026-28 schedule
Application opensJanuary 9, 2026
Application closesJanuary 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM
Interview shortlistThird week of February 2026
GD/PIMarch 6-8 Greater Noida; March 12-15 Roorkee; March 19-22 Bengaluru; March 27-29 Kolkata
ResultFirst week of May 2026
Admission/document verificationJuly 14, 2026

IIT Roorkee MBA Eligibility

The current admission brochure should be treated as the controlling document for academic eligibility. The 2026-28 cycle uses CAT for the regular route and provides a separate CAT-exemption route for qualifying IIT graduates.

  • Applicants must satisfy the qualifying-degree and academic conditions stated in the current brochure.
  • CAT is the principal route for the regular MBA intake.
  • JEE/JEE Advanced-qualified IIT graduates with a CGPA of 7 or above on a 10-point scale are stated to be exempt from CAT and can be directly called for Personal Interview, subject to the institute's conditions.
Do not insert a generic 50% graduation rule unless IIT Roorkee's current brochure explicitly supports it for the applicant category being described.

IIT Roorkee MBA Admission

  1. Qualify through the applicable route: normally CAT; eligible IIT graduates may use the stated CAT-exemption route.
  2. Apply to DoMS: submit the institute's MBA application with the required academic, CAT and personal information.
  3. Shortlisting: IIT Roorkee uses CAT performance for initial interview shortlisting.
  4. GD/PI: shortlisted candidates attend the institute's scheduled selection process.
  5. Final merit: the published process considers CAT, Interview and Work Experience in aggregate.
  6. Admission: selected candidates complete fee payment, registration and document verification.

IIT Roorkee MBA Selection Criteria & CAT Cutoff

IIT Roorkee's published admission material states that initial shortlisting for interviews is based on CAT performance and that final merit is based on aggregate performance in CAT 2025, Interview and Work Experience.

The material used for this page does not state one final CAT percentile as an official cutoff. Therefore, this page does not convert an estimated competitive percentile into an official cutoff.

Student takeaway: a qualifying CAT requirement and the percentile needed to receive an interview call are different concepts. Use the institute's current shortlisting notice for the relevant cycle.

IIT Roorkee MBA Fees 2026-27: Semester-wise & Total Cost

The official fee sheet publishes semester-wise grand totals. For General/GEN-EWS/OBC students under Dining & Residing:

Fee periodPublished grand total
1st Year Autumn₹2,55,550
1st Year Spring₹2,39,050
2nd Year Autumn₹2,40,550
2nd Year Spring₹2,39,050
Four-semester total₹9,74,200

The published totals include the institute's listed tuition, institute/semester charges, hostel and mess components. Refundable deposits and actual mess adjustment should be read from the fee sheet rather than added again to the published grand total.

For SC/ST/PWD students under Dining & Residing, the four published semester totals add up to ₹5,74,200.


IIT Roorkee MBA Curriculum & Specialisations

The MBA comprises 76 credits across eight terms. DoMS currently identifies five specialisation areas: Finance, Marketing, Operations, Information Systems and Human Resource Management.

The first year establishes the common management foundation, while later terms provide advanced and specialisation-oriented learning. For a course-by-course paper list, students should use the latest syllabus published by DoMS because individual offerings can change.


IIT Roorkee MBA Placements 2025

The official 2025 final placement report for the 2023-25 batch records ₹17.91 LPA average CTC, ₹17.64 LPA median CTC and ₹24 LPA highest CTC, with 60+ participating organisations.

2025 placement metricOfficial figure
Average CTC₹17.91 LPA
Median CTC₹17.64 LPA
Highest CTC₹24 LPA
Top 10% average₹22.69 LPA
Top 50% average₹18.02 LPA
Participating organisations60+
View the dedicated IIT Roorkee placement page →

IIT Roorkee MBA FAQs

How many seats are there in IIT Roorkee MBA?

The 2026-28 brochure lists 95 CAT-route seats, subject to increase with competent-authority approval.

What is the complete IIT Roorkee MBA fee?

The four published semester totals for General/GEN-EWS/OBC students under Dining & Residing add up to ₹9,74,200 for 2026-27.

Does IIT Roorkee publish a single CAT cutoff?

The admission material used here does not state one final CAT percentile cutoff; it describes CAT-based shortlisting and final merit.

What was the 2025 average MBA package?

The official 2025 final placement report lists an average CTC of ₹17.91 LPA.


Official Sources

MBA 2026-28 brochure · MBA 2026-27 fee structure · DoMS IIT Roorkee · 2025 placement report